Skip to Content

DART – Let's Go.

DART Executive Staff Biographies

Jesse D. Oliver
Deputy Executive Director

Jesse D. Oliver
Executive Staff
Image Library
Jesse Oliver, who reports directly to the President/Executive Director, has a diverse background with experience in management, labor and employment matters, public finance, legislative processes, legal expertise and transit development. A former Texas legislator and Judge, Oliver co-sponsored the legislation that created Dallas Area Rapid Transit. He was later appointed by the City of Dallas to the DART board and served for 10 years as a member and Chairman.

Deputy Executive Director, Dallas Area Rapid Transit (DART) 2012 - present
Director of Business & Community Relations, Lockwood, Andrews & Newnam, Inc.
Associate Director of Human Resources, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Former Chairman and Member, Dallas Area Rapid Transit - Board of Directors, 1993-2003
Executive Assistant Texas Attorney General
General Counsel, Texas Department of Agriculture
District Judge, 95th Judicial District Court of Texas
State Legislator
Private Attorney

Licensed Attorney, Supreme Court of Texas
Member, State Bar of Texas
Member, Board of Directors, American Public Transportation Association
Member, Executive Advisory Board, Conference of Minority Transportation Officials, Dallas Chapter
Member, Pegasus Charter School - Board of Directors, 1998-present
Member, Homeward Bound Inc. - Board of Directors, 1985-present
Member, Texas Conservation Alliance - Board of Trustees, 2005 - present
Member, Texas Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) - Emeritus Board, 2004-present
Member, Texas Democracy Foundation - Board of Trustees, 2008-2011
Member, Dallas Area Rapid Transit - Board of Directors, 1993-2003
Member, Oak Cliff Medical Foundation - Board of Directors, 1999-2003
Member, Texas Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) - Board of Directors, 1991-2001
Member, Texans Care for Children - Advisory Board, 1996-99
Member, The University of Texas at Arlington Alumni Association - Board of Directors, 1995-1999
Member, Center for Public Policy Priorities - Advisory Board, 1994-1999
Member, Select Committee on Insurance Rate and Policy Form Regulation, 1993-1994
Member, Trinity Ministry to the Poor - Board of Directors, 1988-90 and 1993-98; Advisory Board, 1991-1993
Member, Greater Dallas Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse, 1988-1989 and 1992-1999
Member, The University of Texas at Dallas - School of Social Sciences Advisory Council, 1986 to 1990
Co-Chair, City of Dallas Bond Election Campaign, 1985
Member, Dallas Assembly, 1985-1998
Member, Texas League of Vocational Nurses -Advisory Board, 1985-2005
Member, Dallas Action for Soviet Jewry - Advisory Board, 1985-1993
Board Member, Dallas Democratic Forum, 1984-2000
Member, Mayor's Task Force on Housing and Economic Development in Southern Dallas, 1983-1984
Member, Supreme Court of Texas Gender Bias Task Force, 1991-1994
Chair, Dallas District and County Judges Legislative Committee, 1987-1988
Judge, The University of Texas School of Law Charles T. McCormick Senior Mock Trial Competition, 1987
Member, Texas Attorney General Un-sponsored Charity Health Care Task Force - Executive Committee, 1988-89
Member, Texas Attorney General Child Support Enforcement Volunteer Advisory Committee, 1987-1990
Member, Dallas County Juvenile Board - Executive Committee, 1986-1988
Member, The University of Texas School of Law - Board of Visitors, 1984-1990; Alumni Placement Committee, 1983-1984
Volunteer, Dallas Independent School District, 1983-1988
Member, Dallas Plans For Progress Youth Motivation Committee, 1976-1977
Member, East Garland Neighborhood Service Center, 1974-1975

The University of Texas at Austin School of Law
     Doctor of Jurisprudence
Dallas Baptist University
     Bachelors Degree - Management
     J. L. Ward Distinguished Alumnus Award
The University of Texas at Arlington
     Distinguished Alumnus Award for Professional Achievement
     Walk of Fame Inductee

Transit Agency Board Member of the Year - American Public Transportation Association, 2001
Recognition Award for Outstanding Leadership in Promoting Business Opportunities and Employment for Minorities and Women - Dallas Area Rapid Transit Department of Diversity and Economic Opportunity, 2001
Mickey Leland Award - Texas Senate Black Caucus, 1994
Outstanding Transportation Award for Policy Development - Austin Metropolitan Business Resource Center, 1993
Distinguished Signal Service Award - Prairie View A&M University College of Applied Sciences and Engineering Technology - Department of Agriculture, 1993
National Leadership Award - Children's Defense Fund, 1986
C. B. Bunkley Community Service Award - J. L. Turner Legal Association, 1986
Appreciation Award - American College of Emergency Room Physicians, Texas Chapter, 1986
Civics Award - Elite News, 1986
Ten Best Texas Legislators
     State Bar of Texas Family Law Section, 1985
     The Texas Observer, 1985
Best Texas Legislators - Texas Monthly, 1985
Public Health Hero of the Year - Texas Association of Physical Therapist, 1985
Legislative Excellence Award - Texas Association of Community Action Agencies, 1985
Public Policy Award - Texas Association of Community Health Centers, 1985
Special Legislative Achievement Award - The Association for Retarded Citizens, 1985
Legislative Achievement Awards - Texas Pediatric Society, 1985; Texas Perinatal Association, 1985; Texas Maternal and Child Health Coalition, 1985; Anti-Hunger Coalition of Texas, 1985
Juanita Craft Award - NAACP Dallas Branch, 1985
El Sombrero Award - League of United Latin American Citizens, 1985
Distinguished Service Award - St. Luke Community United Methodist Church, 1985
Special Commendation Resolutions - Dallas County Hospital District Board of Managers, 1985; Dallas County Commissioners Court, 1984 and 1985; Dallas Area Rapid Transit Authority Board of Governors, 1983 and 1985
Special Recognition Resolution - Dallas City Council, 1984 and 1985
Certificate of Recognition - Mayor's Task Force on Housing and Economic Development, 1985
Appreciation Resolution - Dallas Chamber of Commerce, 1985
The Jesse Dean Oliver SBA Student Loan Fund - The University of Texas School of Law Student Bar Association Board of Governors, 1981
Perigrinus Award and Board of Governors Award - The University of Texas School of Law Student Bar Association Board of Governors, 1981
Consul Award and Gene Woodfin Award - The University of Texas School of Law, 1981
Outstanding Young Men of America - United States Jaycees, 1974
Excellence in Administration; Outstanding Performance; and Service Improvement Award - International Business Machines Corporation, 1974-78
Certificates of Appreciation - Dallas Independent School District, 1983-88; U. S. Department of Health and Human Services, 1986; National Federation Of The Blind, 1983; Texas State Council National Organization of Women, 1983; Good Street Baptist Church, 1983; Dallas Plans For Progress Youth Motivation Committee, 1976 and 1977; East Garland Neighborhood Service Center, 1974 and 1975

Back to Top